With so many students using Google Classroom for their online lessons, it's natural for some to wonder what personal information is available to their teachers and other students. Specifically, many students want to know if their screen is visible to others during a video call.
This article explains whether teachers and other students can see your screen in Google Classroom. We'll also see who can see your screen in Google Meet, an extension of Google Classroom.
Can teachers using Google Classroom see your screen?
Google Classroom is one of the best online learning platforms because it gives you so many options. Teachers can use Google Classroom to create assignments, share resources, make announcements, create online quizzes, and post other types of materials. On the other hand, students can use this platform to hand in their homework, comment on posts and find useful information. Overall, Google Classroom is an app that is used primarily for educational purposes and aims to let you share documents and announcements.
That being said, Google Classroom doesn't have a video chat feature, and you don't need to turn on your camera to use it. When you use Google Classroom simultaneously with your teacher, they won't even be able to see if you're online. Also, teachers using Google Classroom can't see your screen.
In fact, teachers have extremely limited access to student information in Google Classroom. They can only see your name, photo, and email address. However, teachers can monitor Google Classroom user activity with usage reports. These reports allow teachers to see the number of active classes and posts created by their students. However, the reports do not differentiate between individual users. They simply exist to provide statistics that teachers can use to improve their lessons.
Of course, anything you submit will be visible to everyone in your Google Classroom group. This feature is similar to posting content to social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Members of your Google Classroom group can also see any comments or replies you have made to messages from the teacher or other students. With that in mind, it's important to be careful about what you post.
Can other users see your screen in Google Meet?
Technically speaking, Google Classroom and Google Meet are two different apps. However, Google Meet is integrated with Google Classroom to allow students to participate in a virtual classroom in real time. Teachers can use Google Classroom to generate a link for Google Meet. This feature is incredibly convenient and allows teachers to invite up to 250 students to a Google Meet session.
Google Meet features are similar to other video chat apps, such as Skype, Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc. Students using Google Meet for their online classes may have concerns about what exactly their teachers can see. Some pages, apps, or files may be private and don't need to be seen by your entire class.
The question of what your teacher and other students can see in Google Meet depends on several factors. Everyone will be able to see your name and profile picture, whether you're online or not. If you're wondering if other people can see your face in a Google Meet video call, it depends on whether your camera is on or off.
If you want to know how to mute your video on Google Meet, it's quite simple. All you have to do is click on the camera icon at the bottom of the screen. You can even turn off your camera before or during a Google Meet session. Once you disable your camera, your teacher will see your profile picture on their grid-style screen instead of your camera feed. Keep in mind that some teachers require your camera to be on for the lesson.
The same goes for your screen. If you enabled screen sharing during a Google Meet lesson, everyone will be able to see your screen. If you haven't, there's nothing to worry about.
If you want to know how to enable screen sharing on Google Meet, follow these steps:
- Turn on Google Meet.
- Sign in to your Google account if you haven't already.
- Start a video call or join one that's already in progress.
- Click on the “Present Now” button in the lower right corner of your screen.
- Choose "Your whole screen" or "A window".
- If you chose "A window", select the window you want to share.
- Click on the “Share” button.
Once the screen sharing option is enabled, your teacher and other students will be able to see everything on your screen. That's why it's important to include only the necessary content. When you want to stop sharing your screen, just click the "Stop Sharing" button in the lower right corner.
With the latest Google Meet update, teachers have the option to turn off screen sharing for students. Follow the steps below to find out how:
- Open Google Meet in your browser.
- Start a new video call.
- Click on the "host controls" icon in the lower left corner of the screen. This opens the “Meeting Security” window.
- Under 'Leave everyone', turn on the 'Share their screen' switch.
Only teachers have the option to disable screen sharing for everyone. They can also disable the chat function.
The teacher has little information during a Google Meet video call. Although they can see your name and profile picture, you don't have to share your video or screen unless your teacher asks you to.
Google Classroom and Google Meet privacy options
When you're using Google Classroom, your teacher can't even see if you're currently online, let alone what's happening on your screen. On the other hand, whether or not teachers can see your screen during a Google Meet video call depends on whether or not the screen sharing option is enabled. If you're not the one sharing your screen, there's nothing to worry about. The same goes for your video stream.
Have you ever shared your screen on Google Meet? What kind of information did you present? Let us know in the comments section below.