Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting a call?

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

Whether you want to chat with someone, join a meeting, or host a presentation, Zoom is a great platform. But when you're on a call, you might be wondering, "Can Zoom participants see my entire screen when broadcasting a call?" »

This is a concern for many because in most cases you want to make sure no one can see what else is on your screen than you. But sometimes you want other call participants to see what you see on your screen.



If you're wondering if other Zoom participants can see your screen, look no further. In this article, we will discuss everything you need to know about screen sharing in Zoom.

Can Zoom see my entire screen when streaming from a PC?

When you join a Zoom call from your PC, other participants cannot see your computer screen by default. They only see what you allow. If you have both your camera and microphone on, they will see you and hear your sound. You can choose to enable one of these two or disable both. The same is true when you are the host of a Zoom call.

But at any point in the meeting, the host or other call participants can share their entire screen. If they choose to share the entire screen, everyone in the call will see it. This is especially useful for business meetings, presentations or conferences.

But just because one of the attendees shared their screen doesn't mean everyone can now see yours too. Your screen remains private until you decide to enable the screen sharing option on your own device, and no one else can do it for you.



If you want other call participants to see your entire screen and you're using a PC, follow the steps below:

  1. During a call, tap the "Share Screen" button at the bottom of your screen.
  2. A pop-up window with different options will appear. Choose to share the whole screen.
  3. The zoom will automatically switch to full screen. You can exit it at any time by pressing the Esc key on your keyboard or by pressing the “Exit Full Screen” button.

Once 80% of the participants in a call have received your shared screen, you will see a notification that you are sharing the screen. The post will stay at the top of your screen until you stop sharing it.

When you share your entire screen, remember that everyone can see it, including the messages and notifications you receive. If you want to avoid this, opt for other screen sharing options, such as sharing a particular app.

It's also important to remember that while you can share your entire screen with others, they don't have control over it. This means that other participants cannot access your apps, messages, and folders just because you shared your screen with them. Participants can only see what you show them.

Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting from an iPhone?

If you're using Zoom from an iPhone and you're worried that everyone can see your screen, you'll be happy to know that unless you enable screen sharing, that's not the case. Normally, if you're on a call, other participants can only see your video and/or audio, depending on your settings. If you want, you can disable both and only listen or only view the conversation.



Zoom protects your privacy, which means that no one can activate the screen sharing option except you, not even the host of the call. Also, if one of the participants is sharing their screen, your screen will not be shared automatically.

When you want to share your entire screen from an iPhone and you're on a call, follow these steps:

  1. During the call, tap "Share content".
  2. Several options will appear on the screen. Tap "Screen" to share the entire display.

If you've never shared your screen before, you'll need to set it up in your settings:

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Tap "Control Center," then "Customize Controls."
  3. Tap the plus sign to add "Screen Recording".
  4. Tap the red bar and return to Zoom.
  5. Swipe left to access broadcast instructions on Zoom.
  6. Swipe up to access Control Center.
  7. Press and hold the record button.
  8. Tap "Zoom" and then "Start Broadcast".
  9. Your screen will be shared in the call after the count of three.

Whenever you want to stop sharing the screen, tap the red bar at the top.

Keep in mind that each call participant will be able to see the notifications you receive. You can prevent this by choosing another sharing option, such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Photos, etc. Whatever you decide to share, you don't have to worry about others accessing your iPhone. Sharing your screen means others can only see it, but they can't control it.



Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting from an Android device?

Zoom is also available as a mobile app for Android users. If you like using it but aren't sure if the app has access to your entire screen, you can have peace of mind knowing it doesn't. Namely, when you're in a Zoom call, others can only see your video or audio or both. You can always customize them by enabling both or none.

Enabling or disabling screen sharing is always up to you. If one of the participants is sharing their screen, your screen will not be shared automatically.

If you want to share your Android device screen, follow the steps below:

  1. During the call, press “Share”.
  2. You will see different sharing options displayed. Tap "Screen".
  3. A pop-up message will appear asking you to allow Zoom to access various features. Tap "Allow".
  4. Tap "Start Now".

Tap "Stop Sharing" whenever you want to turn off sharing. We recommend that you activate the "Do not disturb" option before sharing your screen with others. This way no one can see any notifications you may receive and you can share your screen without interruption.

If you're wondering if other participants are accessing your phone, you'll be happy to know that sharing a screen means they can only see it. Other people on the call cannot access or control your device.

Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting from an iPad?

If you have an iPad and want to use Zoom, but wonder if the app automatically has access to your entire screen, know that it doesn't. Whether you are setting up a call or are a participant, Zoom cannot automatically share your screen with others.

Zoom lets you customize whether others can see or hear you. You can even disable both features and only view or listen to the call. When you decide to share your whole screen, you can activate the option in the menu. The option is useful when you want to show something on your iPad to attendees.

If you want to learn how to share your entire screen from an iPad, follow the steps below:

  1. During the call, tap "Share content".
  2. You will see different options on your screen. Tap "Screen" to share the entire display.

If this is your first time sharing a screen in Zoom, you'll need to set it up in your settings:

  1. Go to your settings.
  2. Tap "Control Center" and select "Customize Controls".
  3. Tap the plus sign to add "Screen Recording".
  4. Tap the red bar and return to Zoom.
  5. Swipe left for 'Broadcast to Zoom' instructions.
  6. Go to Control Center by swiping up.
  7. Select and hold the record button.
  8. Tap "Zoom" and then "Start Broadcast".
  9. After the count of three, you will start sharing your screen.

When sharing your screen, it's important to know that other participants have no control over your iPad. They can only see your screen with no ability to access your device. Whenever you're done sharing your screen, tap the red bar, then tap "Stop."

Control what others see when sharing your screen

Zoom can never share your screen without your permission, no matter what platform you use. Only you can enable this option. When sharing your entire screen with others, keep in mind that they can see everything, including the notifications you receive. If you want to avoid this, enable the "Do not disturb" option on your device or choose another sharing option.

Do you often use the screen sharing option in Zoom? Opting for full screen sharing? Tell us in the comments section below.

Audio Video Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting a call?
add a comment of Can Zoom see my entire screen when casting a call?
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.