How to block direct messaging on Instagram

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

The instant messaging feature for Instagram has been around for several years. People use direct messages or “DMs” to share Instagram content with each other and to chat casually.

Despite the fact that Instagram is a very user-friendly platform, there is no official way to completely disable the Direct Message feature. However, there are workarounds that will ensure that you cannot be disturbed by direct messages.



There are several workarounds to never receive direct messages. Here's how to approach this on Android, iOS, and desktop computers.

Restrict an account

If you're tired of hearing from someone and want their messages to go straight to the Message Requests tab, you can always restrict any account you want. In addition, you will be able to control whether others can see their comments on your posts. More importantly, you won't need to unsubscribe or block them, so the account will have no way of knowing you've restricted them.

Android and iOS

There are two ways to restrict people on Instagram. Here is the first method:

  1. Access your Private Message conversation with this person.

  2. Press the " je» icon in the upper right corner.

  3. Select Restrict

And the second method:

  1. Access the person's profile

  2. Faucet 'Next. '


  3. Faucet 'Restrict. '

  4. Faucet 'Restrict account. '


Office

  1. Go to the person's account

  2. Click on the three dots icon in the upper right part of their profile

  3. Select 'Restrict. '

  4. Click on 'Restrict account' to confirm.

Blocking an account

If you block an account, that person won't be able to find your Instagram profile, story, or posts. Of course, this also automatically applies to direct messaging. Although Instagram won't let the account know that you've blocked it, it might know when it can't find your profile.

Android and iOS

Blocking people on mobile devices works the same way as restricting them. Access the same options as for Restriction, but select 'Block' this time. Then just confirm.

Office

You can block an account on a desktop computer from the menu you would use to restrict an account. However, a person can also be blocked from the DMs page.

  1. Access your Private Messages.

  2. Select the conversation with the person you want to block.

  3. Press the " je» icon in the upper right corner.

  4. Select 'Block. '

  5. Validate by clicking on 'Block. '



Private profile

As long as your profile is public, anyone can message you. They don't need your approval to do so. If you find this annoying, there is a great solution. With a private profile, only your followers can message you directly, and you must approve followers. So here's how to make your profile private. Keep in mind that creator accounts cannot be private.

Android and iOS

  1. Open the Instagram app.

  2. Access your profile by tapping your profile icon.

  3. Tap the hamburger menu (three horizontal lines).

  4. Tap Settings.
  5. Select Privacy.

  6. Flip the switch next to Private account.

Office

  1. Go to Instagram.com and log in.

  2. Click on your profile icon, located in the upper right corner of the browser.

  3. Select Parameters

  4. Aller vers Confidentialité et sécurité in the left panel.

  5. Towards the top of the screen, under Account confidentiality, check the box next to Private account.

deactivate the notifications

Okay, so you can't turn off Direct Message completely. But if the notifications bother you, you can turn them off very quickly.


Android and iOS

  1. Tap your profile icon.


  2. Faucet 'Your activity. '

  3. Navigate to 'Time' tongue.

  4. Select 'Notification settings. '

  5. If you want to turn off notifications for private messages only, tap 'Direct Messages' and customize the settings.

  6. Alternatively, if you want all notifications to be disabled, enable the switch next to 'Suspend all. '

As you can see, you can pause notifications for various Instagram features.

Make your profile private on desktop

  1. Go to your Instagram profile

  2. Go to 'Parameters. '

  3. Select 'Push notifications' in the left panel

  4. Scroll to 'Direct Instagram requests. '

  5. Select disabled

Unfortunately, desktop options are limited. If you want better personalization, use your mobile/tablet device.

Disable Story Replies

One of the easiest ways for people to direct message you on Instagram is to reply to a story you posted. They can do this directly by clicking the button at the bottom of the published story. Fortunately, this feature can be disabled quite easily.

Android and IOS

1: Tap your profile icon.

2: go to Settings.

3: Select “Privacy. "

4: Tap " Story "

5: Press "Disabled" under “Allow replies and reactions” Section.

Refusal of messages

When someone you don't follow sends you a message, the Direct Message won't go straight to your inbox. You will be notified (unless you have disabled this option) but the message will arrive within the Message requests tab, so the person can't see if you've read the message. DMs from the Message Requests tab can be accepted or declined. If you accept such a message, it will be forwarded to your inbox. If you reject the request, the message will be deleted.

Now, the nice thing about this feature is that you can delete a number of these requests at once. If you get a lot of such requests, just press 'Delete everything' and all requests will be deleted.

  1. Access your inbox by tapping/clicking the Direct Message arrow icon.

  2. Select the 'Message requests' (if you have no requests at the moment, the tab will not be displayed).

  3. Tap/Click 'Delete everything. '

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I block only certain accounts from sending a direct message on Instagram?

You cannot stop an account from sending you a DM without unfollowing the account and making your profile private. As mentioned earlier, however, restricting/blocking an account can be a good workaround.

How long does DM blocking on Instagram last?

If you block someone, they will remain blocked until you choose to unblock them. To unblock an account, navigate to the desired Instagram profile and you will see an Unblock feature. Tap and confirm unblocking by tapping Unblock. It works the same on desktop

Does Instagram DM have a limit?

Officially, there is no limit on sending messages on it. However, an account will be unable to send messages for 24 hours after sending 50-100 DM in a single day. However, the account is not blocked – it is simply rendered unable to send messages for a day. Instagram introduced this limit to counter abuse of this feature.

Do Instagram direct messages expire?

When you send a photo to Instagram and you don't select the mode that allows the photo to remain in the chat, the photo will expire and eventually be deleted after being viewed. However, this is not the case with Instagram direct messages. Unlike Snapchat, Instagram saves your entire chat history. However, if you delete a chat, that history is deleted.

Does blocking someone on Instagram remove DMs?

Although the person you blocked won't receive any messages you try to send them and can't access your profile or send you a DM, the chat history will not be deleted. If you ever unblock the person, the chat history will remain intact. Provided you don't delete the chat, of course.

pack

While you can't really completely disable direct messages on Instagram, there are workarounds you can take that may work for you. Consider your options and try the methods we have mentioned here.

Hope this guide was helpful to you. Despite the fact that the solution is neither apparent nor straightforward, we are confident that one of these solutions will work for you. If you have any additional questions or think we missed mentioning something, let us know in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to block direct messaging on Instagram
add a comment of How to block direct messaging on Instagram
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.