Twitter allows its users to personalize their feed and filter out content they don't want to see. One of the options is to block someone. If you're wondering if you've been blocked on Twitter but don't know how to confirm it, you've come to the right place.
In this article, we will see how to check who has blocked you on Twitter. Along with that, we'll give you tips and tricks to use if you want to block someone without them realizing it or avoid seeing specific words.
How to Check Who Blocked You on Twitter
When someone blocks you, you don't get a notification about it.
Here's what happens when you're blocked:
- You don't see the person's tweets.
- You don't get notifications about their account.
- You don't see any comments or replies to a conversation from this person.
- You can technically send them a message, but they won't receive it.
If you think you've been blocked on Twitter, the bad news is that the app doesn't track who did it and when. However, that doesn't mean there's no way to find out who blocked you.
Namely, you can manually check who blocked you on Twitter. The process may take a while, but you can check it out in seconds if you have a specific user in mind.
Follow the steps below to find out if someone has blocked you on Twitter:
- Visit the Twitter website or launch the mobile app.
- Find the person in question.
- If you see their profile, it means you are not blocked. If you see “You are blocked. You can't follow or see [the user's name] Tweets,” that means they blocked you.
Although some may consider not receiving an unfortunate blocking notification, Twitter has a good reasoning behind this decision. Namely, the purpose of blocking someone is to avoid unwanted or unnecessary interactions. Twitter respects the privacy of its users, which is why it does not provide information about who has blocked you. The same goes when you block someone.
Use third-party services
Third-party services like Blolook are useful if you want to know how many people have blocked your account. But, the app does not offer insight into people's names.
Here's how to use it:
- Open your browser and go to Blolook.
- Log into your Twitter account.
- Check how many people have blocked you.
Can I block someone on Twitter without them being able to tell?
As mentioned, when you block someone on Twitter, they won't get a notification about it. But, they can search your profile and establish that they have been blocked.
If you don't want to see someone's tweets or comments, you can remove them from your feed by muting them. This way, you won't block them, but you won't be able to see their posts on your timeline. Users whose accounts are deactivated will not know that you have deactivated them.
Disabling an account does not mean unsubscribing from it. The person remains on your followers list, but you won't see any updates. Also, they'll still be able to message, mention, or reply to you, and you'll still get notifications about them.
You can also deactivate an account that you don't follow. In this case, you will not receive notifications about replies and mentions from this person.
Twitter gives you two ways to mute someone: from a tweet or from a profile.
Here's how to mute a tweet:
1. Visit the Twitter website or open the mobile app.
2. Find the tweet in question in your feed.
3. Tap the three dots next to the tweet.
4. Press "Mute".
If you want to deactivate a profile, follow the steps below:
1. Go to Twitter website or open the mobile app.
2. Find the person you want to ignore and open their profile.
3. Tap the three dots.
4. Select “Mute”.
Twitter protects user privacy
Twitter does not provide the ability to see who has blocked you. The app cares about protecting the privacy of every user, that's why you don't get notifications when you get blocked. If you think a particular user has blocked you, you can search their profile and check if you are blocked. You can also use third-party services to see how many people have blocked you.
We hope this article has taught you how to check who has blocked you on Twitter. Also, we hope you figured out how to stop seeing someone's messages without them being able to tell and how to turn off specific words.
What do you do when you don't want to see someone's tweets? Are you using any of the methods we mentioned above? Tell us in the comments section below.