How to Check Who Your Location is Shared With on an iPhone

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

Apple devices allow you to share your location with family and friends. They can keep track of your whereabouts, see where you're going, and make sure you're safe. You can customize these settings at any time, but sometimes you might forget to block others from seeing where you are.

If you want to know how to check who you shared your location with on your iPhone, you've come to the right place. This article will tell you everything you need to know about the location sharing feature.



How to see who your location is shared with

With the Find My app that comes with every Apple device, you can locate your friends and share your location.

If you want to change the list of people who can see your location, follow these steps:

  1. Go to settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap "Find My".
  4. You will see the list of people who can see your location.

You can also use the “Find My” application:

  1. Open the “Find My” app.
  2. Tap "People".
  3. Review the list of people who can track your whereabouts.

How to stop sharing location with someone on iPhone?

The decision to share your location with someone is always yours. If you want to stop sharing your location with a specific person, you'll be glad to know that there are several ways to do this. We'll walk you through each one.


Find my settings

The first method requires you to go to Find My settings and delete the person:


  1. Go to your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap "Find My".
  4. Tap the person's name in the list of people who can see your location.
  5. Tap "Stop sharing my location".
  6. You will see a prompt asking you to confirm your decision. Tap "Stop sharing my location" again.

Find my app

You can use the Find My app to edit the list of people who can see your location.

Here is what you need to do:

  1. Open the Find My App app.
  2. Go to the “People” tab.
  3. You'll see a list of people who can see your location and people whose location you can see. Those who can see your whereabouts are marked with "Can see your location". Choose the person you want to remove from the list.
  4. Tap "Stop sharing my location" and confirm when prompted.

Another way to stop sharing your location with someone is to swipe left on their name and tap the delete button.

The person will be removed from the list unless they gave you access to their location. In this case, they will remain on the list, but "Can see your location" will be removed.

Messaging app

You can use the Messages app to check if you are sharing your location with a specific person and stop sharing.



Here is what you need to do:

  1. Open the Messages app.
  2. Tap the conversation thread with the person in question.
  3. Tap their photo.
  4. Tap "Stop sharing my location".

Contacts app

Using the Contacts app, you can check if you are sharing your location with anyone and turn it off if you want.

Follow the instructions below to do this:

  1. Open Contacts app / Open Phone app and tap "Contacts".
  2. Find the contact you want to stop sharing your location with and tap it.
  3. If you share your location with them, you will see the option "Stop sharing my location". Press it.
  4. A pop-up message will appear asking you to confirm your decision. Tap "Stop sharing my location" again.

Maps app

If you have iOS 13.1 or later, you can use the Maps app to share your ETA with family or friends while using navigation.


Here's how to stop it:

  1. During the route, press "Share ETA".
  2. Tap the contact in question to stop sharing your ETA.

Once you arrive at your destination, the ETA will stop being shared.

How to stop sharing location with everyone

In addition to disabling location sharing with specific people, you can completely disable this option and prevent anyone from knowing where you are.

Find my settings

Follow the instructions below to stop sharing your location using your settings:


  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap your Apple ID at the top.
  3. Tap "Find My".
  4. Toggle the button next to “Share my location”.

You can also use this method:

  1. Open your settings.
  2. Tap "Privacy".
  3. Tap “Location Services”.
  4. Tap “Share my location”.
  5. Toggle the button next to “Share my location”.

Find my app

Another way to turn off location sharing is to adjust the settings in the Find My app.

Here's how to do it:

  1. Open the Find My App app.
  2. Go to the “Me” tab.
  3. Toggle the button next to “Share my location”.

Keep in mind that once you turn location sharing back on, any contacts who might see it will resume sharing your location. To avoid this, you can remove all contacts from your list using one of the methods described above.

Additional FAQs

How do I know if someone has stopped sharing their location with me?

When someone stops sharing their location with you, you won't be notified. However, there is a way to find out who has been blocking you from tracking their whereabouts.

One way is to check the "People" list:

1. Open the “Find My” app.

2. Go to the "People" tab.

3. You will see a list of people who can see your location and who have allowed you to see theirs. If the person in question is not on the list, it means that they have stopped sharing their location with you.

After the person turns location sharing back on, you'll be notified if you're still on their list.

Keep track of who can see your location

While sharing your location can be helpful, you might want to be careful who has access to your whereabouts. You can check who has access to your location and remove any of them if necessary. Alternatively, you can disable location services completely.

Do you often share your location with others? What methods do you use to keep your whereabouts private? Tell us in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to Check Who Your Location is Shared With on an iPhone
add a comment of How to Check Who Your Location is Shared With on an iPhone
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.