How to delete a channel in Slack

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

Over time, your Slack workspace inevitably becomes cluttered with redundant channels dedicated to completed projects. With Slack, workflow is more efficient when your workspace is in order.

With that in mind, you might be wondering how to remove channels you don't need. However, to do this, you must be the Workspace Owner or Admin.

In this guide, we will share instructions on deleting a Slack channel. We'll also walk you through how to leave or archive a channel you don't want to permanently delete. Finally, we will explain how to perform a data backup before deleting a channel.



How to Delete a Channel in Slack from PC

Before deleting a Slack channel, keep in mind that it is permanent and cannot be reversed. To do this, you must also be the Workspace Owner or Admin. Follow the steps below to delete an active channel:

  1. Launch the desktop version of Slack and log in to your workspace.
  2. Select the channel you want to remove from the left sidebar.
  3. Click the channel name at the top of the conversation.
  4. Click on "Settings", then select "Delete channel".
  5. Confirm by clicking on “Delete this channel”.
  6. Confirm again by clicking “Yes, permanently delete channel” and “Delete channel” one last time.

Otherwise, follow the instructions below to delete an archived channel:

  1. Launch Slack in your browser and log in to your workspace.
  2. Click the hash and magnifying glass icon at the top of the left sidebar. You may need to click on the three-dot icon in the sidebar first to find the icon.
  3. Find the archived channel you want to delete. You can optionally use a filter: click on the filter icon, then on "Archived channels" in the drop-down menu.
  4. Click the channel name at the top of the conversation.
  5. Select "Settings", then click "Delete this channel".
  6. Confirm by clicking "Yes, permanently delete the channel", then "Delete channel".

How to delete a channel in Slack from the iPhone app

There is no way to permanently delete a Slack channel through the mobile app. However, you can leave a channel or archive it. Remember that you must be the Workspace Owner or Admin to archive a channel. Follow the steps below to leave a Slack channel on an iPhone:



  1. Launch the Slack app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Scroll through the channel list and tap the channel you want to leave.
  3. Tap the information icon located in the upper right corner of your screen.
  4. Select "Exit" from the menu.

You can also archive a channel by following the steps below:

  1. Launch the Slack app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Select a channel from your channel list. Next, tap the channel name at the top of the conversation.
  3. Tap "Additional options" at the bottom of the channel settings page.
  4. Select “Archive this channel”.

How to delete a channel in Slack from the Android app

Like the iPhone app, the Slack Android app does not allow users to permanently delete a channel. However, you can exit it by following the steps below:

  1. Launch the Slack app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Scroll through the list and select the channel you want to leave.
  3. In the upper right corner of your screen, tap the information icon.
  4. Select "Exit" from the menu.

If you're the Workspace Owner or Admin, archive a channel using the instructions below:

  1. Launch the Slack app and sign in to your workspace.
  2. From the channel list, choose the channel you want to archive.
  3. Tap the down arrow next to the channel name at the top.
  4. Scroll to the bottom of your screen and select "Archive".

How to remove the general channel

The General channel in Slack is different from the others. This is a place where every member joining the workspace is added automatically. Unlike other channels, no one can leave the General channel. This is important to make sure no one misses the announcements. The only way to delete the General channel in Slack is to permanently delete the workspace. Of course, to do this, you must be the owner of the workspace. Follow the steps below:



  1. Visit Slack from your browser and sign in to your workspace.
  2. Click on the name of your workspace located in the upper left corner of your screen.
  3. From the drop-down menu, select "Settings and administration".
  4. Click on “Workspace Settings”.
  5. Scroll down and select "Delete Workspace", then confirm by clicking "Delete Workspace" again.
  6. Enter your Slack password and confirm again by clicking "Yes, delete my workspace".

Note: Before deleting your workspace, consider exporting your data first. The action is irreversible.


FAQ

In this section, we'll answer other questions about deleting a channel in Slack.

What's the difference between leaving, archiving and deleting a Slack channel?

You can't delete a channel from Slack's mobile app, only archive it or leave it. So what's the difference? When you leave a channel, you no longer have access to it, but this action does not affect other members. They won't be able to contact you in the channel but can still do everything else.

When you archive a channel, all members no longer have access to it and the channel name disappears from the channel list. But chat data is stored in the Archived Channels section and can be viewed by admins when needed.

Finally, when you delete a channel, you and other members permanently and irreversibly lose access to all of its data.

How do I back up my Slack workspace data before deleting the channel?

Since you won't be able to access your data after deleting a channel, it's worth making a backup first. Follow the steps below if you have a Free or Pro plan:


1. Launch Slack in the browser and click on your workspace name in the upper left corner of your screen. This cannot be done in the mobile app.

2. From the drop-down menu, select "Settings and administration", then "Workspace settings".

3. Click on “Import/Export Data”, located in the upper right corner.

4. Navigate to the "Export" tab.

5. Expand the drop-down menu under the "Export Data Range" section.

6. Click "Start export".

7. You will receive an email when the export is complete. Click on “Visit your workspace export page”.

8. Click "Ready to Download" to download the backup zip file.

With the Free and Pro plans, you can only download data from public channels. But if you have a Business+ plan, you can also access a private channel and DM data. Here's how:

1. Launch Slack in the browser and click on your workspace name in the upper left corner of your screen. This cannot be done in the mobile app.

2. From the drop-down menu, select "Settings and administration", then "Workspace settings".

3. Click on “Import/Export Data”, located in the upper right corner.

4. Navigate to the "Export" tab.

5. Expand the drop-down menu under the "Export Data Range" section.

6. Click "Start export".

7. You will receive an email when the export is complete. Click on “Visit your workspace export page”.

8. Click "Ready to Download" to download the backup zip file.

Think carefully before deleting

Deleting a channel in Slack is a serious decision because the data will be permanently deleted. Fortunately, it is difficult to do this accidentally because you have to confirm the action several times. Hopefully our guide taught you how to remove redundant channels or find a better alternative option, such as archiving.

Wish you could delete Slack channels from the mobile app? Why? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to delete a channel in Slack
add a comment of How to delete a channel in Slack
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.