How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

Keeping your Google Classroom organized is essential for easier classroom navigation and management. If you know you will no longer be using a class, you can permanently delete it and free up space in your virtual classroom. Deleting a class is possible on both desktop and mobile versions of Google Classroom, but before you can access it, you'll need to take some steps.

If you want to learn how to delete a class in Google Classroom, you've come to the right place. This article will explain how to do this and explain the steps to follow before deleting.



How do I delete a class in Google Classroom on the Android app?

If you are an Android user, you will be happy to know that deleting a course is possible in the mobile app. If you're on the go and want to rearrange the virtual classroom, doing so on your Android device is easy. But, before deleting a class, you must check it in.

Follow the steps below to delete a Google Classroom course on your Android app:

  1. If you haven't already, download the Google Classroom app from the Play Store and open it.
  2. Open the classroom, find the class you want to remove, and tap the three dots on the right.
  3. Press "archive".
  4. Select "Archive" once more to confirm.
  5. Tap the three lines in the upper left corner to access the menu.
  6. Select “Archived Courses”.
  7. Locate the class you want to remove and tap on the three dots.
  8. Press "Delete".
  9. Select "Delete" again.

Keep in mind that it's not possible to undelete a class in Google Classroom. Once you hit "Delete", you will no longer be able to access any posts or comments related to that class. However, you will still have access to the class files in the Drive folder.



Also note that only elementary teachers can delete a class.

How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom on the iPhone App

iPhone users can use the Google Classroom mobile app to manage classes. While it might seem harder to do this on your phone, Google has done a great job of making the iPhone app user-friendly.

Before deleting a class, you must check it in. If you don't, the option to delete a course will not be available. By archiving it, you move it to a separate folder, and your students will still be able to access it and view the course material.

Follow these instructions to archive and delete a Google Classroom class using your iPhone:

  1. Open the Google Classroom app. If you don't have it, download it from the App Store.
  2. Go to the classroom, locate the class you want to remove, and tap the three dots next to it.
  3. Double tap "Archive". The class will be moved to a separate folder.
  4. Tap the three lines on the left to open the menu.
  5. Open "Archived Courses".
  6. Tap the three dots next to the class you want to remove.
  7. Double-tap "Delete" to confirm.

After deleting a class, you and your students will no longer be able to access class posts or comments, but you will still be able to access class files in the Drive folder. Once you delete a class, there is no way to restore it. If you're not sure you'll need it in the future, it's best to archive it.



How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom on PC

Many prefer using a computer to manage their Google Classroom due to the larger screen and easier navigation. Before deleting, you must check in the class in question. This way you move it to a separate folder, from where you can delete it.

Here's what you need to do to archive and delete a class in Google Classroom on a PC:

  1. Open your browser and navigate to Google Classroom.
  2. Find the class in question and press the three dots on the right.
  3. Double-tap "Archive" to confirm. The class will now be moved to a separate folder.
  4. Tap the three lines at the top left to access the menu.
  5. Tap on “Archived lessons”.
  6. Locate the class you want to remove and tap the three dots next to it.
  7. Double-tap "Delete" to confirm.

Once you delete a class, there is no way to undo it. Although you can't access course posts or comments, you can still view all files in the Drive folder. Note that only primary teachers can delete a class. Co-teachers can only archive it, but they won't have the option to delete it.


How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom on an iPad

The Google Classroom app is also available on iPad. If you use one, you will find that deleting a class is simple and easy. Similar to other platforms, you will need to check in the class first and then delete it.


Follow the steps below to archive and delete a class in Google Classroom on your iPad:

  1. Open the Google Classroom app. If you don't have it, go to the App Store and download it.
  2. Go to the classroom and locate the class you want to delete.
  3. Tap the three dots on the right side.
  4. Double tap "Archive".
  5. Open the menu by tapping on the three lines in the upper left corner.
  6. Go to "Archived Courses".
  7. Find the class you want to remove and tap the three dots next to it.
  8. Double-tap "Delete" to confirm.

There is no way to undelete a class. Once you remove it, you can no longer access any posts or comments related to that class, but you can view the files. Also, you can only delete a course if you are a primary teacher.

If you don't see the "Archived Classes" folder, it's probably because you haven't archived any. There is no way to delete a class without checking it in first.

Keep your Google classroom organized

Google Classroom lets you manage your classes, and one of the many options is to delete a class you no longer use. Before deleting it, you must first archive it. Deleting a course is possible on several platforms, but you can only do this if you are a primary teacher.

We hope this article provided answers on how to delete a class in Google Classroom and offered more information about this popular service.

Do you like using Google Classroom? What is your favorite classroom management option? Tell us in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom
add a comment of How to Delete a Class in Google Classroom
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.