How to delete a Dropbox account

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

Even the largest online cloud storage services may not always meet all your needs. Dropbox may have served you well over the years, but there will come a time when you no longer need it and should consider deleting your account. If you're looking for steps on how to do this, you've come to the right place.

This article shares all there is to know about deleting a Dropbox account. We'll include step-by-step instructions for PC, iPhone, and Android users.



How to Delete Dropbox Account from PC

If you decide to delete your Dropbox account, it's important to understand what happens next. All your data will be deleted and you will be logged out of the platform on all devices. Your desktop and phone app will stop syncing and you will no longer have access to your Dropbox account, in addition to losing access to shared folders.

However, you will still have the Dropbox folders on your computer, where all files in your shared folders will still be available to other members.

Before deleting your account, it is essential to download any important files or documents that you may have stored online. You can do this by following the steps below:

Download your Dropbox files

  1. Log in to your Dropbox Account.
  2. To download all files at once, hover to the left of the "Name" label and check the box next to it. This will select all files in the list. To download a few select files, hover to the left of any file and check the box next to it. Repeat this step for all files you want to download.
  3. Click "Download" at the top right of the screen.

Files may take some time to download, depending on their size. Your records will be downloaded in a zip file.



After downloading your important files, you should unsubscribe from any premium subscriptions you may have. This will stop future charges. If you're using the basic version of Dropbox, feel free to skip the next section.

Unsubscribe from your Dropbox plan from a PC

If you are a paid subscriber, follow the steps below to unsubscribe from your Dropbox account:

  1. Log in to your Dropbox Account.
  2. Click on your avatar and go to the "Settings" page.
  3. Go to "Plan", then click on "Cancel your Plus or Professional subscription".
  4. Enter a reason for the downgrade.

Your account will automatically be downgraded to Dropbox Basic. If your main goal was to cancel the paid subscription, you can stop here and continue using the free version of Dropbox Basic.

Permanently delete your Dropbox account

Now that you've uploaded your files and unsubscribed, you can move on to the final steps:

  1. Log in to your Dropbox Account.
  2. Click on your avatar at the top right of the screen.
  3. Go to "Settings".
  4. Stay on the “General” tab in the navigation menu.
  5. Select the “Delete Account” option. You will need to scroll down the page to find this button.
  6. Type your password.
  7. Select a reason to delete your account.
  8. Click "Permanently delete".

After you delete your account, Dropbox will begin deleting all files stored there for the next 30 days. However, you cannot restore your account after it is deleted.



Notes: You cannot undelete Dropbox Basic, Family, Plus, and Professional accounts.

How to Delete Dropbox Account from iPhone

Removing a Dropbox account from an iPhone is a relatively simple process, but it does involve a few extra steps. If you have a paid subscription, you can simply upgrade to the free Dropbox Basic option.

But if you want to completely delete your account, it is better to unsubscribe from your premium plan before proceeding with account deletion.

Unsubscribe from your Dropbox plan from an iPhone

You can unsubscribe from your premium Dropbox subscription by following the steps below:

  1. Log in to your iPhone Dropbox application.
  2. Tap your profile picture and go to "Settings", then "Schedule".
  3. Tap "Cancel your subscription".
  4. Select a reason for your downgrade.

If you're billed through the App Store, follow the steps below to downgrade your account:

  1. Open your iPhone settings and tap on your name in the top menu.
  2. Go to “iTunes and App Store”.
  3. Tap your Apple ID and tap "View Apple ID".
  4. Head to "Subscriptions," then tap "Dropbox."
  5. Select "Cancel Subscription".
  6. Press "Confirm".

Your account is now automatically downgraded to Basic. Follow these steps to permanently delete your Dropbox account:

Permanently delete your Dropbox account from iPhone

  1. Log in to your Dropbox account using Safari or any other browser on your iPhone.
  2. Download the files and folders you want to save.
  3. Tap your profile picture and go to "Settings".
  4. Scroll down and select "Delete Account". Note that this step is permanent and you will not be able to undo it. Also, all files stored in your Dropbox account will be lost.
  5. Type your password and enter the reason for deleting your account.
  6. Tap "Permanently delete".

After you delete your account, Dropbox will begin deleting your files within the next 30 days. You can proceed to uninstall the app from your iPhone or any other device you have it installed on.



How to Delete Dropbox Account from Android

Android users can delete their Dropbox account using their phone's browser, as the Dropbox app still does not offer this feature. However, there are a few things you need to do before permanently deleting your account.

First of all, if you have a premium subscription, you may want to downgrade your account to the free version first. Second, it is important to save important files and folders from your Dropbox account before deleting them.

If any of these appeal to you, follow the steps below. Otherwise, proceed to the "Permanently delete your Dropbox account from Android" section.

Downgrade your plan on Android

Before deleting your account, you want to cancel your subscription to avoid future charges.

  1. Log in to your Android Application Dropbox.
  2. Go to the "cancellation page" by tapping on your profile icon.
  3. Go to "Settings", then "Schedule".
  4. Tap "Cancel Plan".
  5. Type the reason for the cancellation.

You can also downgrade your Dropbox subscription from Google Play if that's where you're charged:

  1. Open the Google Play Store and tap the three horizontal lines next to the search box.
  2. Go to “Subscriptions” and tap on “Dropbox”.
  3. Tap "Cancel Subscription".
  4. Choose a reason for cancellation and press "Continue".
  5. Select "Cancel Subscription" to confirm.

You will receive a confirmation email after your account is downgraded to Dropbox Basic.

Before deleting your account, make sure to download all important files. Perform the next step only after saving all the files and folders you will need in the future.

Permanently delete your Dropbox account from Android

You will need to use your Android phone's browser to delete your Dropbox account. Just follow the steps below:

  1. Log in to your Dropbox account using any browser.
  2. Tap your profile picture and go to "Settings".
  3. Head to the bottom of the page and tap "Delete Account". Note that you cannot undo this operation once you are done and all your files will be gone.
  4. Enter the password and indicate the reason for deleting your account.
  5. Tap "Permanently delete".

After you delete the account, Dropbox will start deleting your files within the next 30 days. However, you will not be able to use them or restore your account. You can delete the app from your Android phone, computer and other devices where you used the app.

Say goodbye to Dropbox

Deleting a Dropbox account consists of three important steps. Keep important files, cancel your subscription and permanently delete the account. If you skip the first two steps and go straight to the last, you risk losing important documents and additional fees.

This article has provided you with everything you need to know about deleting a Dropbox account. If you have any questions, feel free to share them in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to delete a Dropbox account
add a comment of How to delete a Dropbox account
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.