Update October 20, 2022: the method to delete a WhatsApp account is added.
You may have had a Facebook account where a lot of information has been accumulating for more than 10 years, just like on your Twitter account. You may also regret signing up for TikTok or Snapchat out of curiosity.
Anyway, there are manipulations to go back quite easily. In this article, we show you four tutorials to delete your accounts on the most popular networks, namely Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and TikTok.
Deleting a Facebook account
In the "Your Facebook information" part of the settings on Facebook, you have two options: deactivate or delete your account.
If you deactivate it, you can return to the platform at any time and retrieve your information. If you delete, on the other hand, you will no longer have any trace of your data, neither on Facebook nor even on Messenger. Note that if you deactivate your account, you can continue to use Messenger.
Finally, since Facebook and Instagram are related, these same permanent deletion and opt-out features exist on Instagram.
- In practice: how to delete or deactivate a Facebook account?
Deleting a Snapchat account
On Snapchat, you can delete your account from a smartphone / tablet or with your computer. The process will not be exactly the same in both cases.
Regardless of the method you use, you have 30 days to change your mind: during this period, you can still use your credentials and recover your account. Beyond that, all your data will be permanently deleted.
- In practice: Snapchat: how to delete your account
Delete a Twitter account
In the "Settings & Privacy" section of Twitter, you can get to deactivate your account with a few clicks.
As with Snapchat, a time limit of 30 days applies, you have the right to change your mind for about a month. Despite this permanent deletion, some of your account information may still be visible on search engines.
- In practice: How to delete your Twitter account
Deleting a TikTok account
A relatively recent social network, TikTok also attracts the curiosity of many users. In the section dedicated to managing your account, you can go back and delete it permanently to erase all traces of your presence on the site.
You will need to copy a code that you will receive by SMS to ensure the deletion of your account.
- In practice: How to delete your TikTok account
How to easily delete an Instagram account?
Just like Facebook or Twitter, Instagram has its own account deletion process. Here, you need to connect to a specific page, the address of which is specified in our tutorial. Then, the process only takes a few minutes: you log in to your account, you can specify the reason for your decision and confirm your request.
From the day you make this unsubscription, you have a period of one month to change your mind and reactivate your account. Once this happens, your information will be deleted and permanently lost.
- In practice: delete your Instagram account
WhatsApp: delete your account through the application.
Deleting a WhatsApp account is relatively easy and only takes a few seconds. You can perform the manipulation directly from the app on your phone, you don't need a computer for this. You just need to be able to confirm the phone number with which you created your account.Remember that once the account is deleted, you will not be able to recover your conversations and personal information.
- In practice: How to delete your WhatsApp account