How to Export All Memories in Snapchat

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

Initially, Snapchat didn't save your memories, but that has changed. By default, saving a snapshot to a Snapchat story automatically moves it to your Snapchat memories. This feature uses cloud storage directly linked to your account.

When you use Snapchat, you can store unlimited Snaps and Stories. However, if something happens to your Snapchat account, all those memories will disappear. Luckily, Snapchat has the option to export individual memories or all memories to your device's camera roll, whether you're using Android or iOS.



This article explains how to set your Snapchat to automatically store memories on your camera roll rather than defaulting to the Snapchat cloud. Also, it will show you how to export existing memories to preserve those precious photos and videos.

How to Save New Memories to Camera Roll

If you want Snapchat to automatically back up your memories to your smartphone's camera roll, you'll need to enable this option. To do this, you must:

  1. Open Snapchat from the app menu.
  2. Tap your profile icon in the top left of the screen.
  3. Press on 'Settings' at the top right of the profile screen.
  4. Select 'Souvenirs' in the settings menu.
  5. In the “Save destination” section, press “ ”Save button. '
  6. Choose where to save your memories. You can save your memories in multiple locations.
  7. When you're done, just return to the start screen.

Now when you edit a snapshot or story and hit the save button, it is saved to the destination you chose. The options are:



  • souvenirs: Default option that will only back up your snaps and stories to Snapchat's cloud.
  • Memories and film: Saves to the cloud and to your phone.
  • Film only: Saves to your phone, but they won't stay on Snapchat.

How to Save Existing Memories to Camera Roll

If you enable saving your memories to the camera roll, existing memories will not be exported. This procedure is for existing memories in your Snapchat account. You will have to do this manually. Fortunately, the process only requires these few steps:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Press the 'Memories button' at the bottom of the screen.
  3. Open the memory you want to save.
  4. Press the three vertical points ("No more icon")
  5. Select 'Export snapshot'
  6. To choose 'Film. '
  7. Snapchat will instantly save the chosen memory to your camera roll.

If you don't want to open a memory, you can skip steps 3 and 4. Instead, after step 2, just press and hold the memory you want to save. When the drop-down menu appears, select 'Export snapshot. '

You can also export this memory to another app or cloud storage. To do this, simply choose 'other applications' when you reach step 5.


Can you export all memories at once?

Yes, you can save all Snapchat memories at once. Here's how.


  • Go back or go to Snapchat Memories.
  • Press and hold one of the memories to open the selection screen.
  • Press on 'Select all' found at the top right of EVERY MONTH.
  • Check that all memories are selected, especially since it displays memories for each month in separate sections.
  • Press the " Export button is located at the bottom left of your screen.
  • Press on 'To safeguard…' to export files to your smartphone's camera roll.

During the saving process, you can also select other options according to your needs, such as "Save to Files", "Add to Shared Album", etc. However, this guide is about saving to your camera roll, which is the top option(s).

Once done, be sure to confirm that your photos and videos have been successfully saved to your camera roll.

Export chat, friends, profile and more from Snapchat

Along with keeping memories of your snaps, Snapchat stores lots of other user data. Some of this data is available for export. For example, you can get your chat history, friend list, all your profile information and other data.

To do this, you must:

  1. Visit the official Snapchat account page from your phone's browser.
  2. Sign into your account.
  3. Press on 'My data. '
  4. Scroll down and press 'Submit a request. '
  5. An email link is sent to access your data. You MUST have a verified email address for this to work!
  6. Select the download link in your email.

Add and verify your email

If you haven't verified your Snapchat email, follow these steps:



  1. Open Snapchat from the smartphone app menu.
  2. Tap on your profile icon at the top left of the screen.
  3. Press the gear icon (Settings) in the upper right of the screen.
  4. Tap "Email". If you have never verified your email, this section is marked in red.
  5. If the field is empty, enter your email.
  6. If you can see your email, press 'Resend verification email. '
  7. Open your email and verify the address.

Why back up your Snapchat data and memories?

If you deactivate your account and leave it for 30 days, your data AND your media will be gone forever. This action ALSO means that your Snapchat memories and account data in your Snapchat cloud will disappear forever!

Also, you may accidentally delete stored memories from your Snapchat account.

So if you care about your Snapchat memories, back them up! By using the information in this article, you can keep those precious snapshots forever, or at least until you suffer data loss where you saved them. With that in mind, back them up multiple times in multiple places. You can do this outside of Snapchat, and whenever you need.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I save someone else's memories?

Snapchat doesn't offer a native feature to save someone else's story. There are workarounds, but you have to be careful with them. Snapchat has a very strict terms of service policy. Using third-party apps may actually prevent you from using the service. If you tap the share icon, you can share their instant story with yourself. Once done, you may be able to save or export it. Be careful, if you share someone's content on Snapchat, they will know.

How can I backup my Snapchat memories to Google Photos?

There are several ways to export your Snapchat memories to Google photos. Whether you're using iOS or Android, when you first select the option to export a snapshot, your phone will give you an option where you want to send it. You can select the Google Photos icon and send it directly via.u003cbru003eu003cbru003eIf you don't see the Google Photos icon, save the memories to your device, but select the option to save them to a specific folder in your gallery. phone. This will make it easier to back up your photos to Google Photos. Just select the Snapchat album and upload it to Google Photos.

Can I export my memories to a new Snapchat account?

If you're switching accounts but want to keep your existing content, you'll want to take your Snapchat memories with you. Unfortunately, it will require a workaround to do so. You will need to export everything to your device and then download it again. u003cbru003eu003cbru003eBut, if you want it to appear in the memories, you will have to put it in the 'My Eyes Only' folder. Next, tap on the three vertical lines in the upper right corner and tap on the option to delete the snap from the secret folder. It will then appear in your memories.

Audio Video How to Export All Memories in Snapchat
add a comment of How to Export All Memories in Snapchat
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.