How to Get My Eyes Only on Snapchat

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

Snapchat lets you save your favorite Snaps and Stories to Memories, an album that keeps them safe. And to keep some of those moments extra private, you can password protect them using Snapchat's "My Eyes Only" feature.

If you want to learn how to get My Eyes Only in Snapchat, you've come to the right place. This article will provide a step-by-step guide on setting it up and discuss some of its key features.



What are my eyes only?

Snapchat introduced the My Eyes Only feature to ensure your privacy is protected. Basically, you can add a password to snapshots and stories that you want to keep more private. That way, only you can see them. This password will be in addition to the one you use to log into your Snapchat account.

It is important to know that you can reset the My Eyes Only password if you forget it, but all previously saved files will be deleted. It's Snapchat's way of protecting your most private files from intruders who might try to circumvent this security measure.

How to Add 'My Eyes Only' to Snapchat on iPhone App

Before introducing the steps you need to follow to add a snapshot to My Eyes Only, you need to make sure there is at least one snapshot in your memories or share your phone's camera roll content to Snapchat.

Here are the steps to set up My Eyes Only if you've never used it before:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Swipe up from the camera screen to access Memories.
  3. Find a snapshot you want to move, hold it and tap "My eyes only".
  4. Tap "Quick Setup".
  5. Create a password. Keep in mind that the password should not look like the one you use to access your Snapchat account. Also, remember that the password is the only way to access My Eyes Only. If you forget it and try to reset it, you will lose all previously saved files. You can choose between entering a four-digit passcode or a passphrase consisting of numbers and letters. If you want to choose the latter, tap “Use passphrase”.
  6. Information about My Eyes Only will appear on the screen. Examine it and tap the circle icon if you want to continue.
  7. Press "Continue".
  8. Press "Finish".

Once you've set it up, you can move snapshots from your Memories to My Eyes Only:



  1. Access Memories by swiping up from the camera screen.
  2. Tap the checkmark at the top.
  3. Mark the Snaps and Stories you want to move to My Eyes Only.
  4. Tap the lock icon at the bottom.
  5. Press "Move".

How to Add 'My Eyes Only' to Snapchat on Android App

Similar to the iPhone app, adding Snaps to My Eyes Only on the Android app can be done if you have at least one Snap or Story in Memories. Follow the steps below to set My Eyes Only:

  1. Open the Snapchat app.
  2. Swipe up from the camera screen to access Memories.
  3. Press and hold a Snap and tap "My eyes only".
  4. Tap "Quick Setup".
  5. Create a password. It must be different from the one you use from your Snapchat account. Choose something that you will remember easily because it is the only way to access My Eyes Only. If you forget your password, you will not be able to recover it. Choose between creating a four-digit password or a passphrase consisting of numbers and letters. If you want to create a passphrase, tap "Use passphrase" at the bottom of the screen.
  6. Information about My Eyes Only will appear on the screen. Read it and tap the circle icon if you agree.
  7. Press "Continue".
  8. Press "Finish".

Once you've successfully set up the feature, you can add snaps to My Eyes Only:



  1. Swipe up from the camera screen to access Memories.
  2. Tap the check mark at the top of the screen.
  3. Select the Snaps and Stories you want to add to My Eyes Only.
  4. Tap the lock icon.
  5. Press "Move".

Additional FAQs

Why can't I add photos to My Eyes Only?

There are several reasons why this can happen. First, check your internet connection to make sure everything is fine. Second, make sure you've set up My Eyes Only before trying to add your Snaps and Stories to it. You must first set up a password before you can see the option. Third, you must have at least one Snap or Story in Memories or share your content from your phone's camera.


Can I change My Eyes Only password?

One of the main features of My Eyes Only is that it is password protected. As mentioned before, if you forgot your password, there is no way to restore your password without consequences (loss of access to previously stored Snaps and Stories).

However, you can change your password if you know the current one:

1. Open the Snapchat app.

2. Go to Memories and swipe left to access My Eyes Only.

3. Press "Options".

4. Press "Change access code".

5. Enter the password you want to change.

6. Enter the new password. Choose between entering a four-digit passcode or a passphrase consisting of numbers and letters.


7. Press "Next".

8. Information about this option will be displayed on the screen. Press the circle if you agree.

9. Press "Continue".

10. Press "Finish".

It is important to know that if you change the password by following the steps above, you will not lose anything you have saved in the My Eyes Only folder.

The circumstances are different if you do not know your current password. Since the goal is to protect your privacy and prevent someone else from accessing your files, Snapchat support team cannot access files in My Eyes Only. You can reset your password if you've forgotten it, but anything you've stored in the My Eyes Only folder will be deleted.

Below are the steps to follow if you forgot your password and want to reset it:

1. Open the Snapchat app.

2. Go to memories and swipe left to access My Eyes Only.

3. Press "Options".

4. Tap "Forgot password".

5. Enter your Snapchat account password.

6. Press "Next".

7. Read the information on the screen and press the circle if you agree.

8. Press "Continue".

9. Create a new password. Remember that it must be different from the one you use for your account.

You will now regain access to My Eyes Only, but the folder will be empty. Since there's no way to restore Snaps and Stories you've previously saved, you can only add new ones.

Snapchat protects your privacy

My Eyes Only is a great option that you should use to make sure your most important Snaps and Stories are safe from prying eyes. You can set it up in just a few steps and keep your most valuable files protected under a special password you create. It is essential not to forget the password because Snapchat will delete everything you have previously stored in the folder if you reset it.

Do you use Snapchat? Have you tried using the My Eyes Only option? Tell us in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to Get My Eyes Only on Snapchat
add a comment of How to Get My Eyes Only on Snapchat
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.