How to get rid of someone without them knowing

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

You love to hear from your friends on Facebook, but some of your loved ones simply come under your skin. Sure, the social network is great for helping you stay connected with friends, family members, and other users you don't see regularly in person, but sometimes some friends on your list post too often. Whether you're sick of the endless parade of cat videos, political rants filled with misinformation, or deliberately inflammatory rhetoric, or you just don't see any reason to stay in touch with someone online, maybe it's be time to remove him from your friends list. .



Of course, you don't want to hurt their feelings, whether they're distant relatives or longtime family friends. This raises important questions: Will the person you delete know that you deleted them from Facebook? Is there a way to keep their posts out of their newsfeed without losing their friendship to begin with. Let's take a look at the answers to these questions and more in this Facebook guide.

Can you unfriend someone without them knowing?

Facebook doesn't let anyone know when they're out of friends, so generally anyone you've deleted won't know you've removed them from your friends list. That is, of course, until your friend searches for your name on their platform, only to find that you didn't like them anymore. Whether the person whose friend you lost is wondering where your posts went, or they're trying to wish you a happy birthday, chances are the person you're removing from your online life will eventually find out that she hasn't been a friend.


How to Delete Someone's Friendship on Facebook

If you decide you want to take the risk and cut your toxic friends off your list, you can handle it in three easy steps.


  1. Visit the profile of the friend you want to remove from your account.
  2. Click the button that reads " Friends down their banner photo.
  3. Select Disfriendship.

Consider making acquaintances

Facebook offers more nuanced options than just linking and unfriending people. If you don't want to outright dismiss this person, but are sick of seeing their posts every time you visit the site, add them to your acquaintances list. Facebook limits the number of messages displayed in your knowledge list. So even if you don't delete that person from your Facebook account or feed, you'll still be able to see some of their updates from time to time.

To add someone to your acquaintances list.

  1. Visit their page.
  2. Click the button that reads " Friends down their banner photo.
  3. Select knowledge.

Unfollow to secretly ā€œunfriendā€

There is an intermediate option between completely removing someone from your friends list and keeping them to continue viewing their posts. Facebook gives users the option to unfollow users of their pages, making it easy to keep someone on your profile's friends list without having to re-read their posts. Perfect for distant family members, ex-roommates or old bosses, using the unsubscribe option allows you to customize your feed exactly the way you want while ensuring you don't have to remove users you you may need to contact months or years later. road.


Here's how to unfollow someone on Facebook.


  1. Visit the user's page.
  2. Click the button that reads " Next down their banner photo.
  3. Select No longer follow.

After that, you will see their posts disappear from your News Feed. You can always come back to their profile if you want to keep up to date with what's going on.


Restrict someone to limit their access

Finally, depending on who you're trying to remove from your account, you may choose to use your Facebook account preferences to deliberately limit how they contact you. By restricting their access to your account, you can make it easy for them to hide your posts, to prevent them from commenting on the things you post on Facebook.

Here's how to restrict a friend's access to your account on Facebook.

  1. Visit their page.
  2. Click the button that reads " Friends down their banner photo.
  3. Select Add to another list...
  4. Select Limit at the bottom of your available listings.

Restricted friends can only see posts you've made public or sometimes posts you've specifically shared with mutual friends. They can't see private or friends' posts, which means they won't be able to invade your comments with their own thoughts and opinions.


***

It's always embarrassing to have to cut ties with someone via social media. Remember that Facebook understands and has many ways to personalize your feed, making it easy to personalize your experience in the future. So the next time you need to remove someone from your account, keep in mind that Facebook is customizable and modular, protecting your account from disgusting family members and annoying ex-employees.

Audio Video How to get rid of someone without them knowing
add a comment of How to get rid of someone without them knowing
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.