How to Know if Someone Added You on Snapchat

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

Snapchat is one of the most popular social media based apps available today. Many users appreciate the outstanding privacy of the app. From Snaps that automatically delete themselves to sending cute and funny videos to your close friends, the culture of this app is quite different from other platforms.

With options like sharing personalized Stories with smaller groups and customizing who can see your Snap Stories seriously, Snapchat pushes users to keep things private. It doesn't tell you how many followers you have, it doesn't list your friends, and it doesn't provide like counts or any of that. Instead, it lets you focus on the social side: creating, sharing, and commenting, without worrying about much else.



It's easy to tell if someone has added you on Snapchat if you immerse yourself in the daily use of social media. However, if you're switching from Facebook or Twitter, the increased focus on smaller circles may take some time to adjust. That said, it's always nice to know if someone you follow has added you back. Here's how.

Identify who adds you on Snapchat using the friends list

There aren't many direct ways to tell if someone has re-added you on Snapchat, but you can always use your "Friends" list. Here's how.

  1. Go to your Snapchat profile page.
  2. In the "Friends" section of Snapchat, search for the person's name. The results are displayed.
  3. If you find the specific friend in the list, you've identified that they added you on Snapchat.

Of course, you get a notification when someone adds you and expects you to add them back. But, just as you wouldn't receive a notification that you've been accepted, the other person won't when you add them.



Identify who is adding you on Snapchat using their Snap score

Although you will receive a notification if someone adds you on the Snapchat platform by receiving an add request back, you will not be notified when they do. That said, it's relatively easy to tell if someone has added you or not. While anyone you add with a public Snapchat appears in your Snap feed, you'll also see your friend's Snap score if they added you again.

Open the app, swipe left to open the chat interface (or tap your profile icon in the upper left corner), then select the friend you want to see from the list. Tap their Bitmoji or the silhouette (for those without Bitmojis) to open their profile screen.

  1. Open the Snapchat app and swipe left for the chat interface. You can also tap your profile icon in the top left corner, then choose the friend you want to view from the list.
  2. Tap their Bitmoji or the silhouette (for those without Bitmojis) to open their profile screen.
  3. You will see their username and location on Snapmap. You can also take photos, chat, call or video chat with the person and open the settings menu for that particular contact.
  4. At the top of this page, next to your selected friend's username, you can see their Snap score. If the Snap Score is not listed. they haven't added you yet. Only friends can see each other's Snap Score.

quite interesting, there is no way to hide your snapchat score. Anyone who is your friend on the app can see this information. Therefore, you are guaranteed to be friends if you see Snapchat score.



Identify who is adding you on Snapchat using privacy settings

As mentioned earlier, some users like the Snapchat platform for its culture of privacy. Whether they only accept close friends or those they trust the most, being added to Snapchat is pretty sacred to some users.

Users whose account is "locked" (for example, the screenshot below shows someone who only receive messages from people they know) can always try to send a message and see if it gets a response.

They will know whether you added them or not based on their reply, as they may send messages but only get replies from close friends, depending on their privacy settings.

On the other hand, if you haven't been added yet, you may not receive any response because they never received the message due to these privacy settings. This scenario is another way to find out if you've been added or not, but it only works with accounts with adjusted privacy settings. Instead of looking for confirmation, you're looking for no response, which tells you whether they added you or not.

If someone dodges you, they won't reply to a message, even if they haven't locked their account for privacy reasons. In any case, you will have your answer on whether someone is ready to connect or not.

If you find that someone hasn't added you to their Snapchat friends list, there are a few things to consider:

  • They no longer use the app. Deleting a Snapchat account may seem unnecessary when the person in question no longer uses it. This means you can send invites, but they won't respond because they don't have the app or notifications are turned off.
  • They took a short break – as noted above, these friend requests expire after 24 hours. If they don't have access to the app, they won't receive your request.

Generally speaking, if someone does not instantly accept your request on Snapchat, you can always message them through another medium like SMS or another social media account. This action can clear up any miscommunication about your real-life relationship.



We're friends, but I can't see their Snapchat score

Many users report that they know they are friends with another user but still cannot see their Snapchat score. This situation seems to be a common problem. If you're sure you and another person are friends, log out of the app and log back in. This action usually fixes the minor problem.

You can also make sure your app is updated through the App Store or Google Play Store. Type Snapchat in the search bar or click on the “Updates” option in either. Tap "Update" and see if the problem fixes itself.

If the person you tried to add doesn't show a 'Pending' status, they may have accepted your request to add them again. Try logging out of the app and logging back in to see if their score is updated before you message them or get upset.

Can you tell if someone denied you on Snapchat?

Like being added, you can see if someone has declined your offer, but only indirectly. There are four signs that someone hasn't accepted your friend request: 1) You can't add them as a friend when you select them in search, 2) If you select the person in your Snapchat menu screen but you tap the Add icon to do anything, 3) The person has actively blocked you, and 4) Snapchat won't allow you to send a friend request or message.

We're friends, but why can't I see their Snapchat score?

Many users report that they know they are friends with another user but still cannot see their Snapchat score. This scenario seems to be a common problem. If you're sure you and another person are friends, log out of the app and log back in. This action usually fixes the minor problem. It may be better to delete the cache first.

You can also make sure your app is updated through the App Store or Google Play Store. Type Snapchat in the search bar or click on the “Updates” option in any of the operating systems (OS). Choose to update the app and see if the problem fixes itself.

If the person you tried to add doesn't show a 'Pending' status, they may have accepted your request to add them again. Try logging out of the app and logging back in to see if their score is updated before you message them or get upset.

Audio Video How to Know if Someone Added You on Snapchat
add a comment of How to Know if Someone Added You on Snapchat
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.