How to turn off the "Drive Yourself" message on an iPhone

Who I am
Bernard Perron
@bernardperron
Author and references

Although iPhones are highly sophisticated pieces of technology, they cannot strike up a conversation with you on their own. Therefore, they cannot ask "are you driving?" when you're in your car.

However, they have sensors that can detect when you are driving and stop certain functions for safety reasons. When the "Driving Mode" setting is enabled, it will automatically mute your notifications and calls whenever it detects that you are in a moving vehicle. It's convenient for the driver but not so much if you're a passenger.



Read on to find out how to turn off driving mode on your iPhone. Additionally, we'll show you how to customize the riding mode settings. So when you use it, it handles calls and texts the way you want.

How to Permanently Disable Driving Mode on iPhone

You can either permanently deactivate "Driving Mode" (so it only activates when you manually select it) or temporarily (and manually deactivate it each time it is activated). To permanently disable the feature on your iPhone:

  1. Open "Settings".
  2. Tap "Do Not Disturb".
  3. In the "Do not disturb while driving" section, choose "Enable".
  4. Tap "Manually".

To temporarily deactivate “Drive Mode”:

  1. Access "Control Center" by swiping up from the top right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap the car icon.
  3. From the lock screen, choose the "Do not disturb while driving" notification.
  4. Tap "I don't drive".

Disable location settings

Driving view uses your phone's location services to determine if you are driving. Another way to disable it permanently is to disable location services for "Do not disturb while driving". Here's how:



  1. Open "Settings".
  2. Tap "Privacy," "Location Services," then "System Services."
  3. Now turn off “Location Based Alerts”.

Decide how and when to use Driving View

Driving Mode is an Apple feature designed to enhance your safety while driving by helping you stay focused. When enabled, it mutes or limits your text messages and other notifications.


The driving mode activates as soon as it detects that you are driving. You can turn it off by choosing to turn it on manually or since it uses your location services to indicate if you are driving, you can turn location services off.


The feature offers many customization options, including deciding how it is activated. For example, when connected to your car's Bluetooth or CarPlay. You can also write your auto-reply text message to send in response to messages and calls.

How often do you use Drive Mode? If so, what do you like the most about it? If not, what do you think could improve it? Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Audio Video How to turn off the "Drive Yourself" message on an iPhone
add a comment of How to turn off the "Drive Yourself" message on an iPhone
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.