What happens when you accidentally like and then dislike a Facebook photo?

Who I am
Matthew Wilhelm Kapell
@matthewwilhelmkapell
Author and references

Facebook's homepage has gone through different kinds of looks and designs over the past two years, with the aim of improving user experience. Now, not only can you like a Facebook photo, but you can also react to it with various emojis.

While liking Facebook photos has never been easier, it's also incredibly simple to like one by accident, especially if you're using the mobile app. In this article, we will discuss what happens when you accidentally like and then post it in a Facebook photo. We'll also look at how you can avoid reacting to someone's Facebook post.



Can someone see if you like and dislike their photo?

We have all been there. You're scrolling through your Facebook feed and your finger accidentally slips on the "Like" button under someone's post. Even though you may immediately dislike him, would he receive a notification that you liked his photo?

Unwittingly liking someone's Facebook photo, especially if you're trying to go unnoticed while viewing their profile, can be a little embarrassing. Not to mention that you can accidentally like a photo from a few years ago. It just proves that not only have you visited their profile, but you have also browsed a large portion of their Facebook photo gallery.

While you can't double-tap the photo to like it like you would on Instagram, you just need to tap the "Like" button below on Facebook. If you want to react with an emoji, you have to hold and press the "Like" button until a set of six additional emoji appear.


If you want to react to someone's photo on your PC, hover your cursor over the "Like" tab and the emojis will appear. The moment you like or react to someone's Facebook photo, they will get a notification immediately. To not look like a Facebook photo, just hit the "Like" button, which has now turned blue.


If you're using Facebook on your PC, it's a little harder to like someone's photo by mistake. You'll actually have to click the "Like" tab under the photo, which means the chances of you doing it by accident are much slimmer. But if he did it by accident, to differentiate it, just click the "Like" button again. Once you have different from the Facebook photo, the notification will be removed.

The Facebook user won't be notified that you didn't like their photo, but what about when you liked it? Well, it all depends on the timing. If you liked and then disliked the Facebook post while that person was online at the time, chances are they saw it. On the other hand, if they weren't using Facebook when you liked and hated their photo, then they probably won't even find out.

Accidentally liking a photo on Facebook is more noticeable than on Instagram because the photo you liked will show up in your friends' feeds. This can be especially tricky if you have a lot of mutual friends. The more time between when you liked the photo and when you hated it, the more time you give that person to see the notification. That's why when you like a Facebook photo by accident, you have to dislike it right away to avoid detection.


Whether or not they saw that you liked their photo also depends on their notification settings. If they chose to have their push notifications turned on, they'll get the message the moment you like the photo. However, if they have disabled this feature, there is nothing to worry about.


When it comes to accidentally reacting to a Facebook photo with an emoji, the same rules apply. Although reacting to a Facebook post is different than liking it, to not react, press the "Like" button again.

What to do when you accidentally like someone's Facebook photo

When you like someone's photo, video or Facebook status by accident, the first thing you need to do is dislike them. Another option is to temporarily block this user. While this option may seem somewhat extreme, it's a solid solution if you want to be 100% sure they won't see what you like. To block someone on Facebook on your PC, here's what you need to do:

  1. Open Facebook on your browser.
  2. In the "Search on Facebook" bar in the upper left corner, enter the name of the person you want to block.
  3. Go to their profile.
  4. Click on the three dots at the bottom right of their cover photo.
  5. Select "Block" from the context menu.
  6. Confirm that you want to block them.

To do this on the mobile app, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the Facebook app on your phone.
  2. Tap the three horizontal lines in the lower right corner of your screen.
  3. Go to "Settings and privacy", then go to "Settings".
  4. Scroll down to “Block.
  5. Next to "Block users," enter the Facebook user's name.
  6. Press the "Block" button.
  7. Confirm that you want to block them.

You have to wait a few days before unlocking them. This way, any other notifications they might receive will push yours further into the activity pane and possibly away from their attention. When you block someone on Facebook, all of your previous likes and comments disappear from their posts and photos. If you decide to unlock them, they will reappear. However, your "Like" notification will likely be gone.



Another thing you can do is deactivate your Facebook account, although this option is even more extreme than the previous one. Once your account is restored, the notification will disappear from that person's activity pane. To deactivate your Facebook profile, follow the steps below:

  1. Go to your Facebook page and click the down arrow in the top right corner.
  2. Select “Settings and privacy”.
  3. Go to “Settings”.
  4. Click "Your Facebook Information" in the left sidebar.
  5. Next to "Deactivation and deletion", select "View".
  6. Click on “Deactivate account” then on “Continue to account deactivation”.
  7. Confirm that you want to deactivate your account.

Hide your tracks on Facebook

Everyone with a Facebook account probably liked someone's photo or post by mistake. Even if you don't like the photo right away, the person whose photo you liked might still be notified that you did. But hiding your like depends on your timing and your luck. If you want to make sure your accidental like goes unnoticed, you have the option to block that person or deactivate your account.

Have you ever liked someone's Facebook photo by mistake and immediately hated it? What did you do? Let us know in the comments section below.

Audio Video What happens when you accidentally like and then dislike a Facebook photo?
add a comment of What happens when you accidentally like and then dislike a Facebook photo?
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.